Iowa Youth Basketball State Championships

Openings still in all age groups.

All youth basketball teams in Iowa in grades 4-9 are invited to play in the Pacesetter Iowa Youth Basketball State Championship playoff system.

Iowa will have two region playoff sites:
NORTH REGION (UNI-Cedar Falls/Waterloo Columbus)
Teams must be from the same school or community and may enter one or both regional playoffs in Cedar Falls/Waterloo Feb. 25-26 or Pella Feb. 25 & March 4.

North Region: UNI - Cedar Falls & Waterloo Columbus

Saturday, Feb. 25 - Boys Grades 5, 7, 9 & Girls Grades 4, 6, 8
Sunday, Feb. 26 - Boys Grades 4, 6, 8 & Girls Grades 5, 7, 9

What teams are registered so far...
Top 2 teams advance to state!!
Modified playoff held for 2-3 teams & full tournament held for 4-16 teams.

4th Boys - Prairie Hawks CC, MFL Marmac, Dunkerton, North Iowa, Waverly-Shell Rock
5th Boys - Waverly-Shell Rock, Solon Black, Western Dubuque, Aplington-Parkersburg, Lake Mills, Central Springs, Cedar Rapids Parochial, Cedar Valley Catholic, Cresco Warhawks
6th Boys - Newell-Fonda, Dunkerton, Mason City
7th Boys - Western Dubuque, North Liberty-Iowa City, Cedar Rapids Jefferson, West Delaware, Forest City, Independence, Union, Janesville, Clear Lake, Charles City, Dike-New Hartford, CenterPoint-Urbana
8th Boys - Dubuque Wahlert, LeMars Comm, Cedar Falls Flight, Cedar Falls Excel, Garner-Hayfield-Ventura, Waterloo BAM, Waterloo Warriors, Little Hawk Basketball Club, Waterloo Spartans
9th Boys - Decorah, Iowa Falls-Alden, Cedar Falls Tigers, Waverly-Shell Rock, Independence Community, Dike-New Hartford

4th Girls - Estherville, Pleasant Valley, Central Springs
5th Girls - Cedar Falls Outlaws
6th Girls - Estherville, Regis, Okoboji
7th Girls - Estherville, Dubuque Comm, Waverly-Shell Rock, Cedar Falls, Central Springs, West Hancock, Sioux City West
8th Girls - Vinton-Shellsburg, Sioux City Comm, Iowa Falls-Alden, Hudson
9th Girls - Okoboji

South Region: Pella

Saturday, Feb. 25 - Boys Grades 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
Saturday, March 4 - Girls Grades 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9

What teams are registered so far...
Top 2 teams advance to state!!
Modified playoff held for 2-3 teams & full tournament held for 4-16 teams.

4th Boys - Knoxville, Pella, Grand View Christian
5th Boys - Adel-Desoto-Minbum, Newton, Grinnell, Saydel
6th Boys - Ottumwa, Cedar Rapids Fury, Fairfield, Ankeny, Pella (Matt), Pella Green, Grandview Christian
7th Boys - West Lyon, Indianola, Marshalltown, Newton, Washington, Ankeny, Oskaloosa, Roland-Story
8th Boys - Martensdale-St.Mary's, Ottumwa, Center Point-Urbana, Pella Comm., Grand View Christian
9th Boys - DCG, Pella, Washington, Johnston, Pella Christian, Johnston Z, West Monona

4th Girls - Grand View Christian, North Mahaska, MSTM, Pella Lady Dutch
5th Girls - Marion, Interstate 35, Clarke
6th Girls - Grandview Christian, Pella Lightning, Carlisle Impact, Grinnell
7th Girls - Johnston, Dallas Center-Grimes, Chariton, Dowling, Sigourney
8th Girls - Pekin
9th Girls - Okoboji, Southwest Valley

Registration Deadlines:

Cedar Falls/Waterloo & Pella Boys: Feb. 17
Pella Girls: Feb. 24

The Iowa State Championships for grades 4-9 will be held in a Final Four-style format at Kingdom Hoops Complex in Des Moines on Saturday & Sunday, April 1 & 2.


Iowa region champions and runners-up are invited to play in the over-all Iowa Youth Basketball State Championship. The top two teams from the state tournament advance to the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul, where they play in the Great Four-State Championships against the top two teams from Minnesota, North Dakota, and South Dakota.

Pacesetter Great Four-State Championships
Xcel Energy Center (expected) • St. Paul, MN
All teams will play three games in two days in an eight-team bracket.
Dates will be June 23-24, July 15-16 & July 29-30.
Individual Tournament dates will be posted soon.

The Target Center was used as the Great State site from 2010-2016. In 2017, the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul will host the Great Four-State Championships due to construction on the Target Center.