Saturday-Sunday, August 4 & 5
The College of St. Benedict • St. Joseph, MN

The Pacesetter “Sweet Sixteen” Basketball Championships began in 1991 and annually features the top four teams from each class, boys and girls, mixed into one 16-team bracket with a team from each class in each 4-team grouping in the bracket. Teams are virtually playing for “bragging rights” as the over-all Minnesota summer state champion.

Last summer, the Champlin Park boys and Hopkins girls took home the Sweet Sixteen Championships.Both teams have been ranked No.1 Class4A all season and have remained undefeated.(posted Jan.30)

Tyus Jones, who led Duke to the NCAA men’s championship in March, played in four Sweet Sixteen championships and won twice. He plays now for the Minnesota Timberwolves.

Sweet Sixteen invitations are traditionally extended within two weeks of the Minnesota high school state championships.

The Pacesetter Sweet Sixteen tournament is open to the public and played on five courts simultaneously at Clemens Fieldhouse and Claire Lynch gym at St. Ben's in St. Joseph.

2017 Pacesetter “Sweet Sixteen” Championships

BOYS - Apple Valley
GIRLS - Hopkins